empty boardroom conference table

Your industry personnel roundup – here we cover who’s moved where, which boardrooms have been shaken-up and the new leaders making big decisions in organisations across the industry.

In December 2023, Pilbara Minerals announced the appointment of a new Non-Executive Chair, with Kathleen Conlon assuming the position from 1 January 2024 after retiring as Chair of Lynas Rare Earth. Ms Conlon took over from Anthony Kiernan, who retired on 31 January 2024 after seven years in the role, including seeing Pilbara Minerals through its transition from a lithium developer to a lithium producer.

For BHP, the new year came with a new executive leadership team, with the announcement of a number of updates in December 2023 to come into effect in the first quarter.

On 1 March, Vandita Pant commenced as the new Chief Financial Officer (CFO), having worked for BHP since 2016 – most recently in the capacity of Chief Commercial Officer (CCO). The previous CFO, David Lamont, will remain with BHP until February 2025 as a Senior Executive Officer in an advisory and projects capacity.

Ragnar Udd took over as CCO from 1 March 2024, departing his previous role as President Americas.

Other updates to the BHP team include the appointment of Brandon Craig as the new President Americas, commencing on 1 March, and Johan van Jaarsveld as Chief Technical Officer, who also stepped into the role on 1 March 2024.

On 11 January 2024, Dr Luke Mortimer commenced his role as the new Chief Executive Officer of Kalamazoo Resources. Dr Mortimer joined Kalamazoo in 2019 as the Exploration Manager and played a role in Kalamazoo’s acquisition and development of lithium exploration assets.

Dr Mortimer took over from Luke Reinehr, who co-founded Kalamazoo and has served as CEO since 2019. Mr Reinehr will continue as Executive Chairman of Kalamazoo.

Another company who made changes to its board and leadership team is Mineral Resources (MinRes).

In February 2024, Jacqueline McGill was appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director to its Board, with a background as a highly credentialed mining executive and gender equity champion and a long career in the commodities sector. Another change to the MinRes Board in February was the resignation of Independent Non-Executive Director, Kelvin Flynn, who served for 14 years, including nine years as the chair of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Finally for MinRes, Jenna Mazza was appointed joint Company Secretary, having joined the company in 2014, working across a variety of senior legal roles, most recently as General Manager, Corporate Legal.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

©2024 Mining. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?